Spotlight on Canadian Composers #1

credit: Céline Côté

Ensemble Transmission

Montréal, Québec, CANADA

Guy Pelletier, flutes
Lori Freedman, clarinets
Alain Giguère, violin
Julie Trudeau, cello
Olivier Maranda, percussion (replacing Julien Grégoire)
Brigitte Poulin, piano

Ensemble Transmission is made up of six artists, musicians, thinkers, and independent producers: Guy Pelletier, flute; Lori Freedman, clarinet; Alain Giguère, violin; Julie Trudeau, cello; Julien Grégoire (for this concert, Olivier Maranda), percussion; Brigitte Poulin, piano. Transmission plays modern contemporary music (without a conductor!) from solo to sextet. Ever since its inception in 2008, the in-depth work of Ensemble Transmission has caught the ears of Canadian, as well as international audiences. For the next three seasons, Transmission is the ensemble in residence at the Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur de Montréal.

Transmission will present two excerpts of pieces by Montreal composers. In Ciaccona by Ana Sokolović, the rhythmic energy and the lyricism pass on their irresistible joy of living. In Continuo(ns) by Philippe Leroux, the continuity comes with excitement. Elements that are deconstructed create new ones in the process of destruction.

Excerpts presented

Ciaccona (2002; arr. 2011 – sextet version) 
by Ana Sokolović
Continuo(ns) (1994) by Philippe Leroux, for quintet